I love creating, making things with my hands, designing something old to look like new.

It brings me great joy!

A few years ago I realized I could put all those loves into use as I decorated and designed things for my home.

I want my home to be place that reflects my family, make outsiders feel welcome, and can be a creative outlet for all of us.

A couple of years ago I stumbled upon a blog that totally changed my view of how I set up my home.  The house I saw was so unlike any home I had ever seen before.  Ashley Anne’s house is not only beautiful but it displays her love for her family, and her desire to create.    I was inspired.  From then on I decided to let go of what I thought my house was supposed to look like and just be me.  Little by little I have worked on things here and there with what I had on hand to make my home a special place for my family.  I spent a very small amount of money, using second-hand furniture, spray pain, craft stuff I already had and a few little globos (market) treasures to bring life and color inside.  The job will probably never be complete, and I am more than ok with that.  My fried Claudine asked me a few months ago if she could take pictures of the main floor of my house.  I was pretty surprised.  I think most people must think my decorating is so weird.  Nothing is off-limits to me… yogurt containers, a log from my yard, car tires( in my dining room brought in after these photos were taken), anything can be beautiful if you want it too!   I try not to let myself to get too distracted by the projects I want to do.  My time with my kids is short.  At the end of the day what matters most is not the look, but how we as family live life together.

Decorating is a hobby for me. It is fun but not the most important.

I try not to spend too much time on it.  It’s what’s on the inside, between the walls and thrifted items, that really counts.

So those are my thoughts on decorating and design.  Oh and for the record my house is NEVER this clean!Please check out my friend Claudine’s blog.  You can see her post of the photos on her blog here.  She is a fantastic photographer, and is super creative.  (You can google translate her blog into English, that’s what I do)