Belinda

When we first moved back to Mexico I worked in a daycare.  There were 30 kids in the daycare program from the community who came from many difficult living situations.  The more I got to know each one, the more overwhelmed I became.  Each child had a sad story that included poverty, a broken family and more often than not neglect and abuse.  I had no idea how I could possibly make a difference in so much brokenness.  I did not have the time or resources to help or “save” every child.  It seemed so hopeless.  But…

I could help with one.

Belinda, captured my heart.  I am not sure what it was about her…. maybe her sweet cheerful smile, or how she proudly wore her favorite fancy, button up shirt every single day, or that she was always so quick to give me a hug.

She was special.

The more I talked to her, the more I found out about her life.

She would ask me to pray for her Mama, who was often sick and  for her step dad who was doing drugs and would hurt her mom.

Her stories of her home life would bring me to tears.  I could not imagine that life could be so horrible for a 4-year-old girl.

Belinda looked at me with those beautiful brown eyes and asked me to help her.  I had no idea how.

So I prayed.

Then without really realizing, it I became a part of the answer to her prayers.

I started to visit them.  I got to know her Mom and siblings.  I helped them with what little I could.

When they didn’t have food I brought them some.  When her mom was sick, I prayed.  I asked for help from other ministries and friends back home, to help with school, and uniforms.  I did the little I could.

I told them the truth.  I could help with a little but Jesus loved them and could help with it all.

It started with one.

One little girl.

One little girl became one little family.  

A single mom with 4 kids, trying to survive.  They needed a house.  God provided one.  They moved to a new community called Las Aves.  As we built the house, I fell in love with an entire community.

By now, this family is thriving.  They don’t depend on me.  They depend on Jesus.  They have taught me more about faith then I could ever teach them.  I have heard and seen there bold prayers answered over and over again.  Alta Gracia has experienced the love of Jesus, her life and family has been transformed.  She is a light in an entire community of darkness, where many are quick to receive free handouts but few receive the love and hope of Jesus.

You can see the light in her eyes.  Her smile alone testifies to what God has done in her life.  She dreams of going home to her birth town (down south, in a remote and mountainous area) and telling her family, and community about Jesus and all that He has done for her.

“They don’t know about Jesus,” she tells me, “I have to tell my people!”

“Her people” are known to persecute christians and being closed to foreigners.  They are one of the hardest people groups to reach in Mexico.

It would be nearly impossible for me to reach out to them if I wanted to.

But she can.  This is only the beginning.

One girl….

One family..

One community…

One town….

One people group….

I can not take any credit for what God has done and continues to do in Belinda’s families life.  Jesus is the only one who can restore and transform lives. I was only one of many people who have reached out to love and help this family when they needed it.  But my point is…

It started with one.