I love fall.  The beauty of leaves changing, cooler days, more tea, Thanksgiving…. all of it.  Sadly it’s  a season that almost doesn’t exist here…  Not outside, in stores, the weather, or a special holiday spent with family.

It’s sad.

Especially since I know exactly what I am missing back in Canada.  I was tempted to ignore Thanksgiving all together but was reminded that if I want my kids to grow up with such fond memories of special holidays, such as Thanksgiving, it’s up to me to make it happen.

I decided to make the best of it.

As a family we cut out leaves and wrote things we were thankful for on them.

When I stop and count my blessings I feel so grateful for all that I have.  God has blessed me with so much and I am truly thankful.

Today we will celebrate, and I will cook my first Thanksgiving meal ever!  I had to buy chickens.  They laughed at me at the store, when I asked if they had turkey, hee hee.  It won’t be the same, but it will be special.

Life is what you make is.

I choose to be thankful!